On the Brink

Hello once again Readers! Is that Dumbledore’s pensieve that I’m gazing into?! Why yes, yes it is! I felt it was appropriate for my topic today. You (the Reader) seeing the inside of my mind. Scary, I know. Your catching glimpses of my thoughts on being so close to published. Feeling the emotions that pester me minute by minute. Seeing my real addiction problem to Red Bull…

What?!

I digress.

So I’ve been feeling kind of crazy lately. There are so many things to prepare…so many thoughts swarming my mind. It’s literally exhausting. But the good kind of  exhaustion! I’m days away from being a published author. Can you believe it? I still can’t! And now is when the real work begins. Finding reviewers, marketing, wrapping up the edits on Embracing the Flame, starting the third to the Trilogy…it’s insane. And it’s everything I’ve ever wanted.

I’m overwhelmed by the positive feedback I’ve received thus far with the cover and blurb alone. There are a lot of people who are excited about the release. I can’t believe it! And with that, comes the responsibility. What responsibility you may wonder? Well, my readers are everything. For me, it’s not about being super famous or rich. I want the material I’ve written to carry you away. I want you to feel what my characters are feeling. I want you to get lost and come away feeling like you need more. That is all I want as a writer. I’m sure most do.

My biggest fear right now is disappointment. I don’t want to disappoint anyone, let alone myself. I’ve always been my own punching bag, but was lucky enough to find my Bestie who believes in me and sees me through all my doubts and insecurities. Without her, I’m not sure I would’ve gotten as far as I have. She reassures me constantly that my story is a great one…and I know it is…I just hope the majority feels the same.

Where is all of this coming from?

I’m days from the world having the ability to scrutinize my dreams. To tread on what I have worked so hard for and put so much into. I’m flooded with all these emotions as the days of waiting come to a halt. Worry, eagerness, excitement, joy, anxiety, fear…it’s just a tad of what I have actually sorted through. I think it will ease shortly after Born in Flames is published. At least, I hope it will. I haven’t been blogging as much because of these emotions. I’ve thrown myself into my second novel as a distraction from this exciting and anxiety-driven time in my life. I should be done with the edits by the end of September.

But I digress.

Basically, I’m glad you all are here, taking this journey with me. It helps keep the excitement and joy forefront! The support I have received lately is amazing and literally puts a knot in my throat. I can feel myself growing as a person, gaining strength and most importantly, patience. So thank you all!

I should be hearing from my publisher later today about the release date. Of course, you will be the first to know.

That being said, what in your life has thrown you into a whirlwind and how did you cope?

Echelon out ♥

(P.S) I will be holding a fun contest and giveaway within my next couple of posts. Getting pumped Readers!!!!!

18 thoughts on “On the Brink

  1. Candace, you’re awesome! Ok, so we’ve only met over blogs but someone who goes for their dream and all manuevers through all the accompanying emotions; good, bad & ugly sounds like a rockstar to me. You going for your dreams gives us all more permission to do the same. Way to go!!! Keep putting one foot in front of the other! :)

    • Thank you so much! And here I thought this was just rambling no one would really care to read. I just needed to vent! You’ve made me smile…:) I’m a firm believer in being able to do anything you set your mind to. You just have to want it and then GO for it!!

      Thank you Anne!

  2. Candace, you are awesome. Your feelings are totally understandable as any of us would feel the same way putting ourselves out there. But with great risk comes great reward! You can be proud of what you’ve done. So many people (myself included) dream about just finishing a novel, let along being published. You’ve accomplished a great thing and should be super proud! I’m glad you have a best friend to remind you of that.

    • Why thank you Phillip. You know how I love the word awesome lol. I agree with you about being rewarded and I am proud and grateful for my Bestie. She is my support when the walls come caving in.

  3. Hey Candace, Welcome to the roller coaster emotions which comes from being published. You feelings are completely natural and exactly what I went through five months ago. Good luck with everything!

  4. Seat belt….check
    Helmet……..check
    knee pads, elbow pads…..check and check
    A craine for said walls…..roger that!
    Everything is firmly in place to finish this rollercoaster ride, so that we can smile like two fools at the end :)
    Thanks for letting me sit in the front seat with you – it’s been the most amazing experience (even on the bad days). Now….smile and BREATH :) every lil ting gonna be ahlright :D
    T minus 5….4….3….2…woooooooohoooooooooo!

  5. What put my world untoward whirlwind? Well, the same thing–being published! It’s a lot more than just writing! It’s a good thing I like marketing and that I am pretty decent at it– at the same time that I was published I got promoted to a management position, and decided to change my major in college (to marketing!). Now I pretty much never cease working between my day job and my writing career! I’m so excited for you, and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of your novel! *squeals a little*

  6. I agree with everyone who says you’re awesome.

    I’m rather easily thrown into whirlwinds sometimes. One way I cope is to get out of the whirlwind environment and go out into nature for short periods of time and to take breaks from thinking. All that excitement will still be there when you go back.

  7. You’ve done the work, everything will be fine. I’m sure most Authors feel anxiety right before their Novels are published…take a deep breath, relax and enjoy the moment, you’ve earned it! :)

Say what!?

