Stuck in a Rut Disease Has a Cure!

Hello once again Readers!!! What? I caught a fish? In my jogging shorts? Heck yeah I did! And it was awesome! I caught a shark too! Why do you need to know? You probably don’t, but to avoid being sued for using other people’s photo’s (OPP-hehe), I figured I’d just use my own from now on. I’m killing two birds with one stone. You get to know me a little better and I don’t get sued. Win-win.

But I digress.

So lately I’ve found myself stuck in a rut. A horrible, boring, non-creative, don’t-feel-like-moving, kind of rut. Which had me thinking, what exactly is a rut? I looked it up for us.

rut

noun

1.a furrow or track in the ground, especially one made by the passage of a vehicle or vehicles.
2.any furrow, groove, etc.

3.a fixed or established mode of procedure or course of life, usually dull or unpromising: to fall into a rut.

Ahh…so I’m number three on the totem pole. Knowing that did not make me feel any better. Actually, it made me feel worse because there is an actual definition for it which in turn makes it real. I kicked and moaned and whined my way to my room where I flung myself onto my bed and proceeded to roll around while screaming. “WHEN WILL I BE CURED OF THIS!?”
 
 
I hadn’t realized that as I flailed about, I had knocked over a box that held ancient treasures. I found these treasures while on a treasure hunt (go figure).
 
 
Now, scoot closer…a little closer….almost but not quite….there! I’m going to let you in on a secret. But before I do, you must (there I go using italics again) understand the precariousness of knowing these secrets. In an ancient tomb, I came across five scrolls labeled: Rut Removal. I didn’t know what that meant at the time, but I threw them in my bag anyhow and trotted out of the tomb, feeling like I had just evaded death. That is until I was struck with a curse!
 
 
The curse of the Rut.
 
For taking these beloved scrolls, my punishment was to be struck with what only they could cure. I didn’t realize this until now. And now I have found a way to defeat this evil demon! So don’t fret! I will now bestow this sacred knowledge upon you my friends, in hopes to cure the world of this malicious disease. Being in a rut is the most painful thing an artist can experience! And that’s an understatement! Cursed understatements! If you are cursed, rest assured that you will be cured.
 
I digress…:)
 
Scroll One: Grab a notebook and pencil and assume the handstand position while leaning against a wall. The blood rushing to your brain will ignite a spark of creativity-the number one killer of Rut Disease.
Okay, so I tried this and…at first I was really hopeful. The blood rush did sort of spark creativity, but then I tried to write while holding myself up and trying not to pass out, and well, down she went….moving on.
Scroll Two: Envision your goal while assuming the Lotus position. Harmony and peace will bring serenity to your mind.
Mmmk. So I did this as well. At first it was nice, but then Scarface came on and I kept peeking at the screen to watch it which totally distracted my train of thought and then my legs cramped from being stuck in that position and I had to work out a Charlie horse. Thusly, scroll two is out.
Scroll Three: If Rut Disease persists, take a nap while listening to the sounds of a waterfall.
Okay great! A nap! I can totally do that. And I did. But the nap took up a good four hours and when I woke I had a pounding headache and was horribly parched. I went to the fridge, only to find…I WAS OUT OF RED BULL!!! Long (and scary) story short, a nap did not work.
Scroll Four: Exercise. Sweat out all of the toxins that make up the Rut Disease.
This makes sense. If only we could solve all our problems by sweating them out. Then we’d be healthy and rut-free! I may have just found the next big cure! So I ran and I ran and I ran. I ran so far, that I got lost, like that commercial. After realizing I was lost, it started raining. And to make matters worse, I had blisters. I rode home in a cab that cost way too much and then caught a cold. Need I say more?
Scroll Five: Change your attitude towards your goal. Don’t think of it as unachievable. Believe that you can, and you will.
Why couldn’t I have opened this scroll first? I wouldn’t be broken and sick! As soon as I read it, it clicked! Just like that. I am proud to say that I am now rut-free! I have found the cure!
 
 
So what’d ya think? Can you live a rut-free life now? Can you find it in you to change your way of thinking to pull you from the depths of despair? I hope so!
 
If not, I have my own personal cure…Adult” Butterbeer…yum.
 
Now to leave you with a question: What technique helps you the most?
 
Until next time dear ones, Echelon out ♥
 
Disclaimer: All scrolls and treasure-seeking Candace’s are entirely fictional. Please try these at your own risks for Rut’s are no fun and to be stuck in these precarious situations would be entirely your own fault. Please do not follow my example. I am crazy. And sometimes silly. This is all just a manifestation of my delusional self. Huh? Exactly.
The end.
23 thoughts on “Stuck in a Rut Disease Has a Cure!

  1. I agree – creative minds need each other. In fact, I believe we seek them out unknowingly, because they help us become better, stronger and much more enriched at our craft. And they are usually really fun to plot with….muwahahahaha.

  2. Good stuff here! I actually never think of myself as having “writer’s block” because I feel it solidifies the problem in my brain rather than helping me seek out solutions that could be staring me straight in the face. Love the creativity on this post and so true!

    • Thanks! I wasn’t actually stuck as far as writer’s block. It’s more of a I-don’t-want-to-do-anything block lol. I’ve been lazy and had no spark of creativity. The good thing is, I’m on the editing phase of my second novel so I don’t have to worry so much about the creativity. But I miss painting.

      I totally agree with you though! Definitely doesn’t help thinking negatively.

      • The “I-don’t-want-do-do-anything” block is the worst in my opinion! It is exciting to hear that you are in the editing phase of a second novel. At least you can see progress. Do you ever post pictures of your paintings? I may have to investigate that as another source of inspiration…thank you! :)

      • Oh thanks! I used watercolor. I’m still playing around trying to find what I like. There are others on my business website, http://www.faetismoor.com. I just finished a mermaid one and a blue bird painting that I’ll probably be uploading in the next few posts. Thanks for showing interests! It means a lot! :)

  3. Pingback: “Writer’s Blah”, the Writer’s Blues « crampedwriting

  4. Driving with no real purpose in mind seems to help me. And I often found paying attention to the smallest/obsolete details in life spark my creative juices for some reason.

  5. A very clever take on this most frustrating issue. I have been trying desperately to get back into ,my writing. It is so difficult to get out of a rut. Thank you for the very entertaining post! Have a great day!

  6. Pingback: How To Deal With Stress… | Candace Knoebel

Say what!?

