Rebellion’s My New Middle Name

Colorful socks of happiness ♥

Hello once again Readers!!! Guess what!!!!! I received an email from my publisher this morning letting me know that she will be reviewing the edits of Born in Flames this week! If all goes well and she’s happy, the release date could be right around the corner! I’m nervous, anxious, excited, scared, happy, and hungry….

I digress.

Do you like my socks? I always wear mismatched socks. Occasionally, if I’m going somewhere fancy, I will try to at least match the color. But that’s far and few between.

So what does my socks have to do with anything? Well, remember how I said I wanted to blog about rebellion?

Bingo!

I’ve always tried to be reasonably different. Not too extreme, but true to myself. Sometimes it’s benefited me and other times it’s hindered me. At one point in time, I was actually labeled peculiar by a CFO that I worked for. Which may or may not have been a compliment, but I took it as such! I guess you could say I don’t fit into the corporate world.

Now, if I could choose a world to fit into, it would definitely be filled with loud music, fairies, dragons, music that plays when something epic happens in your life, bubbles, animals that could talk, and trees that sprout money for leaves. Oh, and Harry Potter of course.

I digress. What does that have to do with rebellion?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about all the articles and advice I’ve read from different bloggers and media sites. With my release date right around the corner, I’ve been slammed with a whirlwind of doubts and emotions. I want to be the best I can be. I want to know that I’ve given my dreams my all. A lot is riding on what I am capable of.

It’s what I write here, in front of you all, that I sometimes wonder about. The silly pictures I share, the use of Italics to imply (some view as lazy writing), the slang words I sometimes throw out there. All of these things can be viewed as unprofessional (to some). Am I hurting my career by being me?

Author photo

Author photo

I should be making a name for myself. One that is respected. At least that’s what a lot of author platform tips have said. I should have a professional, relatable author photo. Want to know a secret? My bestie took my photo with my phone while on lunch break. We found a tree behind our office and voila! But that’s who I am. I like to be natural. I don’t like to over think things. I didn’t even plan an outfit for that day. In my opinion, it looks professional, but I’ve read that you should have it done at a studio…

Bump that!

My question is, why can’t I just be myself? Can’t that be enough? Do I have to be fake to make people like and respect me? And why were Italics invented if we aren’t supposed to use them!?

I feel that this is my blog space. This is my place in the world to vent and share the feelings and emotions of someone who has dreams bigger than she can handle.  Don’t get me wrong, I am 100% serious about my craft and about learning everything I can to be a better writer. There are always ways to improve one’s self. That’s why I spend so much time reading and researching.

But at what point do you stop listening to everyone’s else’s opinion, and start listening to your own? I suppose when you’re told that you are headed in the right direction?

Let’s wrap this up. I’m a strong believer in being yourself…to a point. Be sensitive would be the best advice I could give. Be sensitive to the industry and it’s needs and wants if you want to break in, but also, be sensitive to yourself and who you are. Don’t get caught up and lose yourself in the process. You are the reason you are there to begin with. Your words, your thoughts, your vision, it all came from you. And if they liked it, then you must be doing something right!

Don’t know if all of this venting helps or hinders me…lol

Until tomorrow (hopefully I’ll hear more from my publisher…eeek!), Echelon out ♥

14 thoughts on “Rebellion’s My New Middle Name

  1. I say “Be yourself!” It’s the unique people who stand out. There’s a big crowd of writers doing all the ‘right’ things to get noticed and read.
    By the way, I love the picture (my daughter took mine).
    Best of luck with the edits.

  2. Being yourself, is probably one of the most difficult things a person can ever hope to achieve and even more so concerning writing. C.S. Lewis said, “You don’t have a soul. You are a soul. You have a body.” I believe this should answer your question. Hope I didn’t get to deep on you with that quote!

    Congrats on the news about your book!

  3. I bet you have another pair just like those…lol and it was a profesional picture…I remember…..I was there. If you weren’t being you I’d be devistated and would have to find another muse…gasp! I like your random outbursts, red bull addiction, “roll-e” shoes, made up words and mis-matched (sometimes inside out) socks. You’re gonna be EPIC I just know ;) *please note….roll-e was the best I could come up with for trying to spell a word that you made up and…..well just sound it out!
    muwahhhh….much love bestie

  4. Hey, I really enjoyed reading that post. I have been told many times that I am weird but I take that as a compliment. Why? Well, that means I’m unique and that means the way I see the world is different. That can only make my writing, my stories distinct and special; that makes me smile :)

  5. This reminded me of those striped toe socks I gave you for Christmas way back when. You have always been different, and outside of the boring “norm”…that is why you and your husband are so perfect together. You are both wonderful characters in this novel called “Life”.

Say what!?

