How To Gain Traffic To Your Blog

Hello once again Readers!!! Welcome back! And to my newest subscribers, welcome, and thank you for subscribing!!

So, as promised, I’ve spent most of my morning digging around the internet and on Author Media for tips on blogging. I’m down to the last few sips of my red bull.

*frowning*

But on a good note, it’s been such a wonderful week of free knowledge here on my blog.

Now let us begin. The first blog I stumbled upon was 50 Things to Blog About for those of us who commonly get writer’s block. I must admit, there are days when I’m like, uhhhhhh, staring at the computer screen with a blank face. It could be because I have yet to devour my red bull, or it could be because I have that evil, infamous Writer’s Block. (Click on the link to read my blog on how to defeat this illustrious beast). I digress, so the above mentioned blog with 50 ideas is magnificent for overcoming those sort of days.

But that’s really not what I was looking for on my quest for knowledge on how to gain blog traffic. I wanted something meatier, thus I have found: How To Build A Community. This blog has great ideas such as being honest with your readers and inviting them to share their thoughts. For me, this was a no brainer which in turn means-more digging.

*another frown*

Ah ha! I have found it! 21 Tactics to Increase Blog Traffic! Finally, a blog that teaches me something that I haven’t already learned on my own. There are some great tips and even example pictures (my fav-o-rite) to go along with the tips. You can’t go wrong in reading this if you are looking to build your audience…like moi.

Some of my favorite tips are:

  • #10-guest blogging. I have yet to guest blog or have a guest on my blog, but I am open to it and have even been trying to figure out how to get started. This blog explains in detail how to get started, so look out bloggers!
  • #16-use your email signature to promote. It’s a great (and free) way to silently spread the word.
  • #22-A bonus tip! Be consistent. I love this tip because it applies to not only blogging, but writing as well. Practice makes perfect and working hard will eventually pay off.

So what do you think? Did this help you? It helped me! *happy dance* My only hope is that I can apply what I’ve learned, and plant the seeds of my thoughts amongst you all in hopes that they will one day sprout heartily, leaving me with a lovely audience that I can interact with. :)

Now to leave you with a question: As a fellow blogger, what tips do you have to offer for gaining traffic? If you’re not a blogger, what brings you back as a reader and what bores you?

‘Til next time (Most likely Monday)…Echelon out ♥

18 thoughts on “How To Gain Traffic To Your Blog

  1. Candace.
    Many thanks for the great tips! I have recently noticed a growing increase in my blog traffic (I was the only visitor for over a year – but that suited me at the time) and it’s inspired me to make my blog more interesting and readable.
    What bores me? Acres of unbroken text.
    What interests me? Fun content and short, sharp paragraphs. Maybe it’s the age we’re living in – we’re all subject to wandering attention and need to be rivetted by blog content.
    I will endeavour to incorporate the tips (not all at once though!) and turn my journal into something worth reading! :)

  2. I was just thinking about this today. Thanks for 1.) liking my post and 2.) posting those sites. They’re definitely helpful. Also, I always think it’s really cool when I find published author bloggers. Nice job! The sample sentence from your book makes me want to read it.

    • 1) You’re quite welcome! And 2) Great minds think alike. It was a lovely blog topic and a very interesting read.
      Thanks for the on the sample sentence! Hopefully soon my publisher will have my release date. Fingers crossed!

  3. Pingback: Other Systems – An Author Interview with Elizabeth Guizzetti | Candace Knoebel

  4. Great post! I agree with Michelle, connecting with other bloggers– commenting on their blogs, sharing their posts, etc.– has been key for me. I think it’s easy to get lost in this big blogosphere, but by focusing on cultivating relationships that are worthwhile it seems a lot more small and easier to navigate.

  5. I really enjoyed this post and it came at the right time. Though I’ve been blogging for several years, I finally have the time to dedicate to it and I was wondering how to gain readership. Thanks!

    • Your welcome! That’s exactly why I shared. It’s nice when your words can branch out into the world and reach so many people. And with all the self-help blogs, now we’ll have the tools to do so. Good luck!

  6. “#10-guest blogging. I have yet to guest blog or have a guest on my blog”
    If you want to swap blog posts on some topic, I’m willing to give it a try :)

  7. Candace,
    Thanks for liking my recent post.
    I don’t think there is any quick way to building readership unless you are lucky enough to be on Freshly Pressed. I agree with the others…take the time to read and comment on other’s blogs, you will find people that you “click” with. I haven’t done any guest blogging or had a guest blogger, but like eadingas I am willing to give it try…it might help us both! :-)

    • That sounds good! I’m on my second author interview right now. I haven’t yet guest blogged, not sure exactly how to go about that, but I’m willing to try anything new! Just let me know. :)

  8. Candace,
    This was a great blog post. Thanks for sharing the information. I will go back to it. There are a lot of great tips. Being consistent is the most difficult. By the way, I will need to read again the guest blogger advice, not sure what to do there yet, but I would love to have you as a guest. Talk to you later! :D

  9. Hi Candace! Thank you for liking my blog. I definitely like yours! I am going to follow you, hope you will stop back and do the same! Maybe you can guest blog during my radio show series on Why Blogging Rocks… If you are interested, please contact me through my website, http://www.averagewomansj.com – just click on the Contact link!

Say what!?

