Social Media & Marketing Part One-Twitter

Hello once again Readers!!! It’s going to be a long, but resourceful blog today, so let us begin. I have just realized that I am not as socially savvy as I thought I was…

Wait…so you mean you’re awkward?

Yes-yes I am. When it comes to social media that is. Sure I have a Facebook, a blog, and a Twitter, but am I using them properly and to my advantage? And, are there other social sites I could be using?

It always happens this way for me. I wake up and smack my forehead. Duh! I need to get with it. But how exactly do you do that? Well, my lovely readers, the slow and painful way-a.k.a-research. But lucky for you, I am going to break down what I’ve found into five easy links for your viewing and learning pleasure. Don’t say I never gave you anything. *Wink*

Okay, so here we go. First off, I stumbled on a site called, Author Media. If you haven’t discovered this site by now, please click on that link. Their site is FULL of helpful information on marketing and social networking for new and aspiring authors. And let’s face it, for indie authors, most of the marketing falls in your lap, so take all the help you can get!

But what really caught my attention, (which is extremely hard to do considering I skim through most everything I read), was all the Twitter tips. Yes. I am admitting to you right now, that I don’t really know how to use Twitter. I mean, I barely understand the concept of hashtags. I’ve spent the last few years brazenly refusing to fall into another social media’s trap, but now that I am to be published, it’s time for me to grow up and get over myself. It’s a resourceful way of connecting with not only other authors, but agents and publishers too! Check out these articles that I have thoroughly read and feel are useful to mastering the famous blue bird.

How to Get Started on Twitter-for those of you who don’t have one yet. This is a very quick and easy set-up tutorial. I highly recommend you open another tab and get started!

How to Create a Twitter List-I didn’t even know this was possible! This solves a majority of the reason why I never liked Twitter. Creating a list will cut back all the tweets that you don’t particularly care about reading, and will categorize them for those of you who are OCD like me. Plus, this blog even has easy, step-by-step instructions with pictures! Hang on-logging into Twitter as I type so I can update as I finish this blog. Gosh I love multitasking!

What to say on Twitter to gain an audience-This blog is especially helpful for moi. As I said in the opening, I tend to be socially awkward. This blog will remind you that no one cares if you are standing in line at Starbucks. What matters is, are you interesting? Can you make their day a little less boring?

If I haven’t convinced you yet that Twitter is important to an author, read this! 5 Reasons Novelists Should Flock to Twitter. It’s very convincing.

And last, but certainly not least, Finding the best time to Tweet. I actually laughed when I read this. I can’t believe I am so behind in the ways of social networking. It’s almost embarrassing! (Which embarrassed is my middle name in case you didn’t know). It goes right alongside of my awkward title.

So, if you are still reading this, I hope that you have gained at least a smidgen of insight in the ways of Twitter. I am only in the beginning stages so I will continue to update you on what I find as well as share what else I learn in the ways of marketing.

Now to leave you with a question: What did you have for lunch? Haha, just kidding. Seriously, the question is, what do you know about Twitter that can make my life easier? Please, please share your knowledge below for all of us to read!

Echelon out ♥

22 thoughts on “Social Media & Marketing Part One-Twitter

  1. Pingback: Marketing Ideas for Authors « Candace Knoebel

  2. Very interesting Candace! I am one of those who don’t yet know the ins and outs of Twitter, and I am eager to learn. Shall you be discussing more about Twitter in the 2nd part or about another social media platform? I am going to read other posts on your blog right away! Thanks Candace for informing us!

    • Hey! Yes, the blog I’m doing later today will be the part two. I’ll be doing some on facebook, pinterest, and linkedin as well because I’m new to them and don’t quite know the sites.

  3. Hey Candace, thanks for the links! We’re so glad the articles were helpful to you. If you have any specific questions you’d like to see us blog about, we’d love to hear them!

  4. Thanks so much! I am finding Twitter pretty annoying, although I’m using and trying to follow “good Twitter etiquette”. It seems that most authors on Twitter are just blasting their books 24/7 rather than using it as more of a dialogue. I’m trying not to do that – one blog plug and one book plug a day, plus some real stuff. I feel like I’m definitely in the minority, though!

    • Yeah I don’t it’s useful to blast your novel 24/7. That gets annoying. But it is great for connecting, promoting, and reaching out to your audience when used properly. I always put what I’m doing and what inspires me.
      Glad this could help!

    • Yeah I’m slowly getting there. There is still tons for me to learn though. Plus, I have to remain dedicated to it which is difficult. Log in to one, log out of another, then log into another…so many social media sites! Time consuming!

Say what!?

